What Youth Pastors need more of…


Today is supposed to be my day off. Funny. Not really, its Sad. I need to be better at taking a day of Sabbath every week. But usually things get piled up. I’m still taking a few bible classes online through Liberty, and adding the work of those on top of the full work week of Youth Ministry, on top of renovating a house with my wife, it adds up. I’m in my office right now because being at home was getting my mind going on too many other projects, and I’m more relaxed here right now, as sad as that is.

I have heard it said that the only way to truly take a break from everything is to be on a beach for several days. I think that that really is true, I mean if you go visit a city, your doing too much stuff, spending too much money, walking everywhere. If you go to the mountains your still busy.

But just relaxing on a beach, thats where its at. I would love that right about now. And really, I don’t even feel that stressed.

But thats not the point of the sabbath. It’s not a “Im feeling stressed, need to take a day off” kind of thing. Rather, its a day to remind us that God created us to be Human-beings not Human-doing’s.

If I’m honest with myself, perhaps the home reno’ is the best thing for me for right now. Seeing results is an amazing thing, specifically in ministry.

You see I count myself to be extremely blessed, I come from a line of people in Ministry, including me and my two brothers now in this generation. Some of the greatest advice to come down from previous generations was when my Grandpa taught my dad handywork, namely, painting, for the reason of Sabbath. As he put it “In ministry, you hardly ever see results, and that gets discouraging real fast. So find something that you can see a thing in this bad of shape at one moment, and looking like this another, because it will lift your soul.”

So my dad learned to paint, and he taught his Three sons how to paint. It’s why I paint the youth room every few years. Why I enjoy working on our house so much. Because I can see results happen in a matter of hours, and see that I’m making a difference.

And I know that that sounds like an odd way of spending a sabbath, but the point of the sabbath is to replenish our souls. For the longest time, I thought it just meant to relax, and so I was lazy all day on Mondays. But in the end, that wasn’t replenishing. There had to be more. And maybe your at that point now. It may not be painting for you, but find something that replenishes your soul, before you reach the point of exhaustion.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

