Virtues of a Successful Youth Pastor #10 – Be a Dreamer


I’ve got Doris Day running through my head right now, but that’s ok, I love it. Dream a little Dream for me has always been one of my favorite songs, and though there have been several versions that have come out since it was first sung in 1931 by Ozzie Nelson, Doris Day’s is probably the most famous.

In High school, I was a part of a Jazz Choir, singing through out the state of California, and traveling to sing at Carnegie Hall my sophomore year. I had never much been into Jazz, what sophomore in High school really is, but during those years developed a huge appreciation for it, and during that sophomore year of High School, when I had a lot of junk going on in my life, this song was engraved into my mind. Without getting into all of the details about that year of my life, it was the first year of my life that I knew without a doubt I would grow up to be a youth pastor, among other things. It was also the year I became a “hopeless romantic”.

I say all this to get to the point that I used to dream of dancing in the kitchen with my wife as an old man, singing lullabies to her just to show her I love her, every time I used to hear or sing this song. And now that I am married, one of my favorite things is to grab my wife while shes doing dishes and dance in the kitchen singing to her to dream a little dream for me.

She says I am a dreamer, and that I dream to much sometimes. I feel as though too many people don’t dream enough. The fact of the matter for me, is that I love imagining what things would/could be like in a perfect world, and then taking that idea and trying to figure out how to make it a reality.

Like the dream of what if I had the worlds largest youth ministry budget, what could I accomplish?  Then realistically thinking what could I accomplish without that budget but rather in my current situation.

The fact of the matter is that not enough youth pastors are visionaries, and so  we lead youth ministries that are going places based off the vision of a youth group down the road or across the country. We need to start dreaming a little more, and making them realities.

Or we can continue to be content where we currently are, in our current direction that may be currently working. But as for me, I’m going to keep on dreaming, keep on tweaking, and continue to attempt to never get stagnant. I encourage you to Dream a little dream, too.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

