5 Hardest things to do in Youth Ministry


As I prepare to make somewhat of a transition in my ministry and in my life, It’s been hitting me hard that at some point in the next few weeks or months, I’m going to have to say Good bye to my students. It’s tough because I know there are many different kind’s of Good bye’s in Youth Ministry, mainly Good bye have fun in college or Good bye I’m leaving.

But today it hit me that there are a lot of tough things that Youth Pastor’s have to do as part of their job that no class in seminary can ever prepare you for.

I thought I’d make a list of the 5 Hardest things to do, mainly to pass along to some of my friends graduating this May to go into the wild with. Luckily, I have only had to deal with a few of these things, if you have done them all then I simply say thank you for loving kids.

1. Do the funeral of a Student in your Ministry

2. Help hurting students as their Parent’s go through a Divorce

3. Be with a student as they explain to their parents they are pregnant

4. Say Goodbye to a Ministry you are leaving

5. Explain to your Youth why you got Fired without causing further damage to the Church

 

6 Responses to “5 Hardest things to do in Youth Ministry”

  1. So true. I often think “Man, they didn’t teach me this!” I’m still new in youth ministry so I haven’t experienced these things. I have close friends who have though and I commend them and pray for the day when I will experience them. Thanks for sharing.

    • Yeah I definitely have the feeling many times still of almost regret for going to college. Sure, I learned a lot, but that first day in the office was a huge kick in the mouth. I just sat there thinking “What am I supposed to do now?!?”

      Anyways, thanks for stopping by, and yeah those experiences above will definitely improve you as a Leader, but geeze they can be rough. I’m about to begin dealing with number 4 in a few months if it’s God’s will, and it’s already hitting me how hard it’s going to be.

  2. Eesh, these are all tough things. Was expecting more of a joke 5 tough things, glad to see it was honest though. Agreed that too many enter Youth Ministry not aware that these things lie ahead of them, and it can crush those not expecting it.

  3. Prayers go out for anyone experiencing these this week. Reminds me of a quote by Mark Yaconelli ” I’m in awe of Youth Pastors, and I think Jesus is too, I just wish the church was”

  4. Tough list… These are the realities of youth ministry, however. Something no college course will teach you, though

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. GUEST POST: The 5 Hardest Things You May Have to Do in Youth Ministry | More Than DodgeBall - Youth Ministry Blog by Josh Griffin - Saddleback Church's High School Youth Ministry (HSM) - December 26, 2010

    […] Baptist Church in Trenton, IL. He and his wife Sarah have no children, just a black lab named Max. Check out his blog, Small Town Student Ministry, right here. View More: ben reed, divorce, funeral, guest posts, leaving the church, painful ministry moments, […]

Leave a Reply

