Friday’s Frustration – 12.3.10


Every Friday I post a frustration of living in a small town having grown up in a big city. Usually it has nothing to do with ministry, but rather is just an annoyance about small town culture.

Today’s Frustration about serving in a Small Town Student Ministry – No Starbucks.

I know, I know. It’s not that big of a deal. And truth be told, I can only imagine how much money I have saved  by not being able to get Starbucks as often as I would like, as used to be the case in college. But here, the closest Starbucks is about a half hour away, and so it’s a lot less likely that I find myself in one. It would be ridiculous for me to drive a half hour to get to a place to do some work when I can save the gas and make some coffee with the Keurig at my house or in the office. But I hate that.

I love the atmosphere of Starbucks. Further, I love the Idea behind Starbucks, and that they are constantly evaluating and tweeking the way they approach their business. I’m sure it sounds silly, but I hate not having a Starbucks in my town. Can you relate?

 

3 Responses to “Friday’s Frustration – 12.3.10”

  1. I’m right there with you. My last job, I spent a good 5 hours a week @starbucks doing lesson prep, reading. It’s nice to have a place to go specifically to do that. When I stay at home to try, I get distracted with the dishes, or the tv. No good

  2. Wow, what a culture shock. Im in a small town but we still have a starbucks and coffee shops. I can’t imagine life with out them

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Frustration – 12.17.10 « Small Town Student Ministry - December 19, 2010

    […] I do a frustration about something non-ministry related but rather small town related, like not having a starbucks, or having gravel […]

Leave a Reply

