Friday Frustration – 11.26.10


Every Friday I post a frustration of living in a small town having grown up in a big city. Usually it has nothing to do with ministry, but rather is just an annoyance about small town culture.

Today’s Frustration about being in a Small Town – No need for politeness.

Sure, people in small towns can be polite, so don’t hear my saying they are all rude. But there is just no need for politeness in this town, and here is what I mean.

The other day, I was driving to the office and I came up to “the Big Intersection” in town. Now in Trenton, we have no stop-lights, we simply have one intersection that is a 4 way stop. There are never more than 4 cars in line, and even that only comes around “rush-hour” at 5 o’clock.

So as I approached the stop sign, there were 2 Semi’s at the front of the line in two directions, so the line appeared longer. There was a car trying to turn to get on the road out of the gas station, so I stopped to allow her space to pull onto the road. She looked at me like I was an Idiot, which was followed by the car behind my laying on his horn. There was no need to allow her space to get onto the road, she’d be fine in 10 seconds after we made it through the intersection.

The same goes for the few times I have gone to the store in town. Simply because there is no one else in line, people treat you like a moron if you let them go before you when you have a full cart and they have 1 item. Politeness is simply just not needed in small towns like this one, and it frustrates me to no end!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

